Ladies Darts Organisation



Posted by Julie Lambie on January 21, 2014 at 8:20 AM


January 14, 2014
The televised stages of the inaugural BDO Daily Mirror World Trophy kick off on Thursday 6th Feb at the Tower Ballroom, Blackpool, with a match featuring Lakeside Ladies World Championship runner up and number one seed Deta Hedman.

It is testament to the tremendous viewing figures the ladies final achieved on BBC TV last Saturday evening and the excellent standard throughout the game, which sees a ladies match fully justifying its position as the tournament opener.

The undoubted highlight of the first night though is the encounter between champions past and present, when the ever-popular former World Champion Andy ‘The Viking’ Fordham takes on the newly crowned Lakeside World champ Stephen ‘The Bullet’ Bunting.

The event marks Fordham’s TV tournament comeback as the Daily Mirror wildcard entry and, whilst The Bullet will be overwhelming favourite in the best of 11 leg match, the fans are sure to be there in their numbers to see the return of one of the most popular World Champions the sport has seen, as well as the new World Champion.

Other stand out fixtures on the opening night include Tony O’Shea looking to put the disappointment of his Lakeside whitewash to Martin Adams behind him, when he takes on America’s Jim Widmayer, who also competed at the recent World Championships in Frimley Green.

Gary Robson takes on Dutch darter Geroen Geerdink and Scotland international captain Ross Montgomery gets his campaign underway against New Zealand’s Mike Day.

Former Ladies World Champion Anastasia Dobromyslova is also in action on the opening night, taking on Lorraine Ferlam from England in a best of seven-leg encounter.

Rounding off the first evening’s action is Lakeside semi finalist Jan Dekker, who will find out his first round opponent once the qualifiers have been completed the night before at the world famous iconic Blackpool Tower venue.

The second night’s action begins with a ladies match once again, with losing semi finalist 19-year-old Fallon Sherrock from England up against compatriot Paula Jacklin.

Friday night also sees the entry into the tournament of th enew Ladies World Champion Lisa Ashton, who will be hoping to continue her great form when she comes up against the very experienced number seven seed Julie Gore, of Wales.

In the men’s draw on Friday, the highlight for many fans will be the appearance of three x Lakeside World Champion Martin ‘Wolfie’ Adams, who will be up against a qualifier in the first round and will no doubt be keen to have his name on the trophy first.

The ever popular ‘Dazzler’ Darryl Fitton is also in action on the Friday night, in an ‘Ashes’ battle against Australia’s Harley Kemp and, after recent Aussie success in the cricket, there’s sure to be a tremendous support from the home crowd in that one!

Lakeside semi finalist Robbie Green completes the first round games on Friday night, when he takes on Karel Sadlacek of the Czech Republic.

The men’s second round and ladies quarter final schedules for Saturday will be confirmed on conclusion of the first round, using the bracket draw system.

As well as the fantastic line-up already confirmed in the main draw, the qualifiers will also see some familiar names involved, including Lakeside runner up Alan Norris, the returning Dutch entertainer Co Stompe and the controversial former two x World Champion Ted ‘The Count’ Hankey, who yesterday confirmed his return to the BDO after spending two years with the PDC.

Every dart thrown will be shown live on Eurosport, as well as highlights streamed on

Tickets for all four days of the tournament plus entries into the qualifiers, can be bought here

Tickets range from £5 to £35 for spectators and £20 for men and £15 for ladies to take part.

Full Order of Play

Thursday 6th Feb

(1) Deta Hedman (Eng) vs Q – 1
(16) Jim Williams (Wal) vs Scott Waites (Eng)
(9) Gary Robson vs Geroen Geerdink (Neth)
(8) Irina Armstrong (Ger) vs Q – 2
(8) Tony O’Shea (Eng) vs Jim Widmayer (USA)
(1) Stephen Bunting vs Andy Fordham (Eng)
(4) Rachael Brooks (Eng) vs Sharon Prins (Neth)
(12) Ross Montgomery (Scot) vs Mike Day (NZ)
(5) Remco Van Eijden (Neth) vs Wesley Harms (Neth)
(14) Paul Jennings (Eng) vs Aiba Kustuya (Japan)
(4) Jan Dekker vs Q – 3

Friday 7th Feb

(3) Fallon Sherrock (Eng) vs Paula Jacklin (Eng)
(15) Rick Hofstra ( Neth) vs Madars Razmar (Lat)
(7) Jeffrey De Graaf (Neth) Q – 2
(6) Aileen De Graaf (Neth) vs Q – 4
(10) Glen Durrant (Eng) vs Q – 4
(2) James Wilson (Eng) vs Richie George ( Eng)
(2) Trina Gulliver ‘MBE’ vs Q – 3
(11) Scott Mitchell (Eng) vs David Cameron (Can)
(6) Darryl Fitton (Eng) vs Harley Kemp (Aus)
(7) Julie Gore (Wal) vs Lisa Ashton (Eng)
(13) Martin Adams vs Q – 1
(3) Robbie Green (Eng) vs Karel Sedlacek (Czech)

Categories: LDO in the Media

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register